Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

The Secret Revealed

12 Comments

Any guesses as to what yesterday’s secret project was?

No?

How about a hint?

IMG_1189A bag?  You’re getting warmer.  Any other guesses as to what one should do with such a bag?  (Although, I think it’s lovely just the way it is, if I do say so myself.)

How about a peek inside?

IMG_1191It’s a linen bread bag.  Isn’t that just the sweetest thing you ever did see?  I’m not sure which one makes me smile more.  The linen bread bag or the loaf of bread inside of it (even if it was an off bread day).  Of course, I promptly gave it and the bread away because a certain person, ahem, was hinting (slightly) that they were lacking in the bread department.  What better way to share a loaf of bread with a friend than to put it in this reusable and ever so attractive bag?

Sadly, dear reader, I’m not able to share the bread (or the bag) with all of you, but if you’re so inclined, you can make your very own.  I used this tutorial – loosely, though, because when have I ever been able to follow directions as written?

And the linen?  Oh, my.  I would like to make some towels for my kitchen, some napkins for the table, and a bread bag for myself.  I had a yard when I started and had plans to make at least three bread bags, but I got…distracted.  The rest of the linen somehow, mysteriously mind you, found itself cut up for a purse.

*sigh*  We’re going to need more linen.

 

 

12 thoughts on “The Secret Revealed

  1. Mmmmmmmm It is absolutely fabulous!!! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on In A Stitch Quilting and commented:
    I was going to type up my own version of this message, complete with pictures, but my daughter has done such a wonderful job that I have decided to use hers instead. In case you are wondering what my attraction is to the topic . . . I was the lucky recipient! Read on and you will understand. 🙂

  3. the gift of bread is a wonderful gift. and a bag makes it even better!

    • It reminds of the days way back when – when my mom baked bread. Smelled so yummy. Taste so good warm and with butter. 🙂

      • Oh, yes, definitely with the butter. Although, I think toast can be a close second. The husband isn’t home as often as the rest of us like and often laments that he misses out on that crucial first few moments when the bread is hot and the butter extra melty. I have to try and remind myself to make bread when he’s home, too. :0)

    • I know, right? It’s like a gift in a gift!

  4. I just wanted to provide an urgent update: This just in . . . the bread is all gone!!!!! Will be there another delivery?????

  5. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Plugging Along « Under the Maple Canopy

  6. Pingback: The Amazing, Disappearing Loaf of Bread « Under the Maple Canopy

  7. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Mostly Linen « Under the Maple Canopy