Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

WIP Wednesday – Plugging Along

1 Comment

The last week or so has been rather busy, but I’ve still managed to continue plugging along on my many projects.  To help keep things straight I’ve decided to tackle this post (and probably future ones) in list form.  Here’s how things stand this week:

Quick Finishes (or the “finish it already!!” group):

Waiting:

  • Shattered – needs quilting and binding
  • fleece quilt (pictured here) – need to finish sewing nine patch blocks, need to finish sewing together rows and then needs some sort of binding to help keep it square-ish – but mostly waiting on inspiration.

In Progress:

IMG_1270Pleated Beauty Bag from “Bend the Rules Sewing” by Amy Karol

This is where the linen went that was supposed to be used to make my own bread bag.  The grey and yellow print is one that I picked up the Saturday after Thanksgiving when it was only $1.99 a yard.  I picked up quite a bit of fabric that day, some of which became skirts for my daughters and some of which is sitting in my stash waiting for me to be inspired.  I’m struggling a bit with the embroidery – mostly because my abilities don’t quite match my desires.  I wanted to try and echo the pattern in the highlight fabric, but my french knots need more practice before that would be a reality.  After muddling around for awhile I finally landed on the scattered stitches on the left which I’m loving to pieces.

IMG_1278embroidery piece for my linen bread bag

Remember the linen bread bag I made my mom?  This was supposed to be the decoration for a matching bag of my very own, but then, of course, purse and here we are – cute little double-decker bus and no linen for the bread bag.

Finished this week:

IMG_1257Indygo Junction Composition Covers pattern x2

I actually complete two of these this week (check out last week’s post to see both sets of fabrics), but I was so focused on getting my mom‘s to her that I didn’t even stop to take a picture.  I am so glad I left the decorative band off the cover for mine.  I didn’t want anything to distract from the fabric.

IMG_1259

My favorite part of the cover?  The cotton twill ribbon made to look like a tape measure, of course!  I got mine from BrownBirdMarket over on Etsy.  Now that it’s finished I’m thinking a new pen is in order.  I’m not letting that hold me up, though, as I’ve already begun to fill the first few pages with my project list and a few of my own ideas.  LOVE it!

Time Sensitive/Need to Get Started ASAP:

  • red/gold bunting for Imbloc/Chinese New year (need to purchase fabric)

The Great Big Wish/To Do List:

IMG_1076

From “Sewing in No Time” by Emma Hardy:

  • fireplace screen
  • drawstring toy bags
  • fabric covered storage box
  • floor pillows
  • floral pillow with ties

From “Quilt Revival” by Nancy Mahoney:

  • 30’s Shadow Star

From “Oliver+S Little Things to Sew by Liesl Gibson:

  • tutu (x2)
  • reversible bucket hat (x3)
  • travel quilt (?)

From “Handmade Home” by Amanda Blake Soule:

  • beach blanket

From Oliver+S:

From “Little Stitches” by Aneela Hoey:

  • Empire State Building Needle Case
  • Rain, Rain Go Away Hanging Hoop

From “Liberty Book of Home Sewing” by Liberty of London:

  • Sugar Bag Doorstop
  • Toiletry Bag
  • Bean Bag
  • Keepsake Board
  • Lampshade

Seeing Squares (small) from Empty Bobbin

Batik Squares quilt (my own design)

One thought on “WIP Wednesday – Plugging Along

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Mostly Linen « Under the Maple Canopy