Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Martin Luther King, Jr.

2 Comments

My friends, I must say to you that we have not made a single gain in civil rights without legal and nonviolent pressure. History is the long and tragic story of the fact that privileged groups seldom give up their privileges voluntarily. Individuals may see the moral light and give up their unjust posture; but as Reinhold Niebuhr has reminded us, groups are more immoral than individuals.

Martin Luther King, Jr. – Letter from Birmingham City Jail

2 thoughts on “Martin Luther King, Jr.

  1. How many times these past two years have I thought about Niebuhr’s famous quote. So apt in these troubled times in Wisconsin.

    May I say that your bread skills are fabulous. If the family aren’t complaining and you’re not happy, some of it is the female perfectionist gene. They could not look that good and not taste just as good. When we moved into our house, the kitchen had brown indoor/outdoor carpet. All I could think about was here was a person who did not use flour (or sugar, or milk etc). We lived with that floor for almost 8 years and it was darn grotty when we got rid of it, because I do a lot of baking and cooking.

    And your bag is beautiful. Love the inside/outside fabric contrast. How about a zipper compartment on one side and an open one on the opposite?

    • Oh so very true!

      I suppose if I’m aiming for bread-related transparency, I’d include pictures of the lackluster loaves, but I neglect taking their pictures on purpose. So far only my best loaves have made their debut here and yes, they are just as wonderfully tasty as they appear!

      My grandmother was a huge fan of carpet in the kitchen which made me wonder many of the same things that you did. Do these people not cook? Or have children? When we bought our first house it had blue indoor/outdoor carpet that they glued down to the (original) hardwood floor(!!). It was one of the first things we replaced (some thin sheets of plywood over the glue that we could.not.get.up and those adhesive vinyl tiles) in the house so I admire your restraint!

      I like your suggestions for the purse. I’m keeping notes in my design notebook for the “next time.” :0)