Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

The Amazing, Disappearing Loaf of Bread

5 Comments

The last time I wrote about bread, I was thrilled with my ability to reliably turn out a decent loaf.  Would it surprise you that I almost didn’t hit “publish?”  There was a small, but vocal part of me that worried if I would somehow jinx myself (even though I am aware that this is logically impossible) by seeming too successful at the whole venture.  True to my own illogical worries, I have since been plagued by a number of mediocre, shrinking, and otherwise not quite right loaves of bread.

Rather than throw my hands in the air and give up I decided to keep on baking (and failing) because even if I knew that they weren’t right, they were still tasty and not a single member of my family paid my failures any mind.  If it looks like bread and smells like bread, in their minds that’s good enough for lunch.  Mostly, I did a lot of reading, a little bit of troubleshooting, and watched a few more videos from my Craftsy class, “Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Bread Baking.”  It’s a lovely class – the perfect mix of the why and the how of bread baking.  I’ve already learned quite a bit and I’ve been working on this whole bread thing since 2009.

IMG_1340

Isn’t it pretty?  I’ve been mostly making enriched loaves lately, but there’s something quite wonderful about a nice lean dough – just flour, water, yeast, and salt.  I love the techniques used in the class.  They’re somewhere in the middle between “Artisan Bread Everyday” and your standard cookbook bread recipe.  Tonight it was all about catching the bread on the rise and trying not to squish too much of the air out of the bread when shaping the final loaf.

IMG_1347If the crumb is any indication, I’d say I was pretty successful with tonight’s lesson.  As for the taste?  Let’s just say the husband is lucky there’s any bread left for him.

Oh, and yes, dearest loved one, your loaf is coming.

 

5 thoughts on “The Amazing, Disappearing Loaf of Bread

  1. What a lovely loaf of bread! Bread is one of those deceptively simple things to make. It looks easy-peasy until one actually tries to make it. I love that you’ve kept honing your skills and didn’t give up.

    • Why, thank you!! I would agree that bread can be deceptively simple, especially for something that at its base has only four ingredients. There are a number of modern bakers, though, that have tried to simplify things quite a bit, but even at that failure is inevitable at least a time or two (or four). :0)

  2. there is nothing better than good bread. l made my first loaf in 1972 and never looked back. I still make bread at least every week or so….just two of us now. there was a time when the kids wanted real bread like their friends had….keep making the bread,it looks so good!

    • I sometimes wonder what my kids will think down the road. I was never one growing up to pay much mind to what other kids were eating – or at least not that I remember. There are a number of things that we do around her that I think folks would consider odd so I suspect more than bread might make my kids uncomfortable in the future. Time will tell, I suppose!

      Thank you for your kind words! I’m glad to hear that you’re still making bread 30-some years later. :0)

  3. Pingback: More Bread « Under the Maple Canopy