Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

What’s for Dinner – Let’s Try That Again

6 Comments

Last week sorta, kinda fell apart as far as dinner was concerned.  Then again, this sort of thing tends to happen when the primary cook (me) is ill.  I have tried to let the kids know that I would prefer they keep whatever illnesses they may find along life’s path to themselves, but so far I have been unsuccessful in my attempts to convince them.  Not to worry, it’s only an assertive little upper respiratory thing – you know, the sort of illness that makes the word hibernation all the more appealing.

I substituted a few meals last week with things like popcorn and peanut butter sandwiches.  There were more than a few complaints about the new dinner plans.  My oldest, Groceries, was the most vociferous objector regarding any deviations from the published menu.  It is possible that I have created a monster.

IMG_1494Red Bean and Quinoa Chili comes to us via last week’s menu. You can find it in Cynthia Lair’s “Feeding the Whole Family” or over yonder.  I’ll be adding in some chopped veggies for toppings and err on the side of carbohydrate overload by making the Sun Bread I didn’t make yesterday for Imbolc dinner.

Spaghetti is another immigrant from last week’s menu.  Newman’s Own Sockarooni with a bit of a home fashioned kick will help rescue this from the more mundane offerings out there.  It’s also a great I’ve-got-to-get-all-three-kids-to-the-YMCA-all-by-myself dinner.

Yakisoba (with fried tofu) is from Cynthia Lair’s “Feeding the Whole Family.”  For the visually inclined sorts, you can also find it on Cookus Interruptus with video!  I already had the soba noodles on hand in addition to several of the other ingredients which is largely why I picked the recipe.

White Bolognese is a recipe I found in Tamar Adler’s “An Everlasting Meal.”  We’ll be serving ours over polenta and garlic kale.

Rice Bowls are a repeat from a couple of weeks ago.  We’ll be having bulgogi, sesame greens, red pepper strips, bean sprouts, little white mushrooms, cilantro, and some lime juice all over a bowl of jasmine rice.  I suspect the family would prefer that I served this one every week…or maybe every meal.

Pizza is now on weekly repeat.  My new favorite crust recipe is from Ken Forkish’s “Flour Water Salt Yeast.”  We’ve made quite a bit of progress from that first week’s experiment.

Tomato soup and grilled cheese is fairly self-explanatory.  The soup is Pacific’s Creamy Tomato Soup (Tetra-Pak) and the bread will be homemade.

You’ll notice a slight change in order listed in the text versus the image, but that’s because I think pizza sounds like a Friday sort of food and this Friday the husband will be home to eat it with us (plus a few extra guests).  Yes, yes, I could have changed the board and the image, but I didn’t.  You’re not surprised by this, are you?  Yeah, me neither.

What about you, dear reader?  What’s on your plate?

6 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner – Let’s Try That Again

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather. We’ve had the crud here as well. You teach children to share and what do they do… sheesh! Friday I at least had enough energy to throw something into the crockpot in the morning.
    Your menu is inspiring. I’ve still got a few holes in mine for next week. Hmm….

    • I know, right! :0) Sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather too. Here’s hoping that both of us return to health sooner, rather than later. Preferably tomorrow if anyone’s keeping track.

      I’m glad that the menu is inspiring to someone other than my little corner of the world. I figure more regular people, actually budget friendly dinner ideas out on the internets is important – especially ones that aren’t casserole heavy. I’ve always appreciated the ideas you’ve shared, too!

      Happy menu Sunday!

  2. Hope you feel better 🙂

  3. Hopefully you are feeling better!

    I found that when I went to a daily schedule with the kids, I had to write a disclaimer–“This schedule is subject to change at the whim of mom”

    • Sadly, it’s the upper respiratory thing that (still) never seems to go away. I love the disclaimer idea. They really do seem to latch on to things like this with an iron grip. In a way, I guess I can’t blame them!