Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Book #2 is Finished!

calpurniatateWhen we first started “The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate” by Jacqueline Kelly, I was afraid it might be a bit of a dud for us.  The kids seemed to have a hard time settling into the story and I just about quit not more than 50 pages in.  I really wanted them to like the book, though, so we kept on.  Once we hit about a third of the way through the book all thoughts of quitting were long since left behind.  In the end, we all loved the book.  My only wish is that the author had left things a bit more settled for the main character.

I’ve already brought book #3 upstairs.  We’re going to start “Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Farm” by Betty MacDonald tomorrow evening.  I’m looking forward to some fun reading for a bit.  Short.  Sweet.  Giggles.  Silly.

Yup, that’s just about right.

Comments are closed.