Under the Maple Canopy

Singing Union Songs Since 2009

Design Friday – “House and Country”

2 Comments

I spent an excessive amount of time yesterday shopping for fabric on the computer to finish two projects I just started (and would really like to finish). The first of the two is a picnic blanket inspired by one I saw in “Handmade Home” by Amanda Blake Soule. I say inspired because you know I can’t follow a pattern or recipe as written. Where’s the fun in that?

I loved the idea of the picnic blanket more than I loved the specific pattern. Mostly, though, I wanted to use what I had on hand which did not match the yardage Soulemama called for. I had three fat quarters of Lucy’s Crab Shack, two half-yards of Dear Stella Town & Country, plus an assortment of Kona Cotton charm squares from the new colors (CHS-134-42) and a couple of 5″ squares of Michael Miller’s Eiffel Tower.

To which you are now feeling a little confused and befuzzled, yes? I’ll admit it’s a bit of a mishmash, but I’ve never been one to let that stop me from continuing on anyway trusting that it will at some point come together. At best I end up with something uniquely my own. At worst, I hack at it with my rotary cutter and end up with something entirely different. My quilting motto? There are very few mistakes you can’t fix by cutting something apart. You just need a little…imagination.

It’s still a work in progress, but I’m happy to report that very little extra cutting was required. The fact that my quilt top needs some squaring up before attaching the borders (under an inch compared to the middle) is only a tiny speed bump on my way to completion. Well, that and waiting for the rest of the fabric to arrive. Details, shmetails.

Until then, and seeing as I’m entirely enamored with the fabric collages that online retailers put together in order to highlight a collection, I decided to create my own nifty graphic for no other reason than because I can. Why should they have all the fun?

I’m calling it “House and Country” because every quilt needs a name and I’m weird like that.

picnic blanket_text

As for the other quilt? That’s the one I spent two hours on the computer shopping for only to end up rather “Meh!” about what I picked out. Five minutes in JoAnn Fabrics and I had six Kona solids that were perfect to finish off the quilt, but that, dear reader, is another tale for another day.

*sigh* These are the perils of shopping online.

2 thoughts on “Design Friday – “House and Country”

  1. Pingback: Sunday | Under the Maple Canopy

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Long Time Coming | Under the Maple Canopy